A Rhode Island Month to Month lease is a lease agreement used under short-term conditions where the lease ends each month and is renewed for rent. This tenancy agreement can be modified or terminated much more easily than an annual lease (1) and is therefore useful if the landlord or tenant is not sure that the tenant can stay in a property for an entire year. Roommate Agreement – Is used to promote open communication between tenants who share a single apartment/house/building. Is made up exclusively among tenants (no lease signature is required). A month-to-month lease in Rhode Island allows a landlord and tenant to enter into a contract that can be terminated at any time with a 30-day period. Written in agreement with . 34-18-37, there is a start date on the document, but there is no end date to evacuate from both parties except a 30-day message. While a landlord may change the terms of the tenancy, increase the rent or even terminate the lease at its sole discretion, the lessor is nevertheless required to give the tenant a written termination of at least thirty (30) days before amending the lease in one way or another. As in all states, it is illegal for the landlord to increase the rent or change the tenancy agreement in a discriminatory manner, or in retaliation for the tenant`s actions (for example. B filing a complaint with a housing company through the landlord). A month-to-month lease is automatically renewed each month, unless one of the parties who signed the original lease decides that they wish to terminate the agreement. This can easily be done with a sufficient announcement in the state of Rhode Island. Both the landlord and the tenant must submit a notice of at least 30 days to the other party.
This message should be enough to allow the tenant to find a new place to call the house and the landlord enough time to find a new tenant who will live next month. As the tenancy agreement can be terminated quickly, the tenant should be exceptionally informed of the terms of his tenancy agreement, so that he can avoid being violated or giving the lessor reasons to terminate it. There are few laws, which relate specifically to Month to Month Leases in Rhode Island, but all relevant rent laws are in Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 34-18 The agreement provides for most all the same rules contained in a standard lease, except that tenants and landlords have the right to terminate the lease with a 30-day period instead of being stuck in a long-term lease.